United States visa requirements

Generally, a citizen of a foreign country who wishes to enter the United States must first obtain a visa, either a nonimmigrant visa for a temporary stay, or an immigrant visa for permanent residence. Visitor visas are nonimmigrant visas for persons who want to enter the United States temporarily for business (visa category B-1), for tourism (visa category B-2), or for a combination of both purposes (B-1/B-2).

Travel without a visa:
U.S. visa policy permits citizens of certain countries to travel to the United States without a visa, when they meet certain requirements, under U.S. laws. For information about travel without a visa, click on the links below.

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables most citizens or nationals of participating countries* to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa.

Countries that participate in the Visa Waiver Program*:

South America

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Oceanic/Pacific Australia, New Zealand
Asia Japan, Brunei, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan

If your country doesn't appear in the above list, please visit https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/us-visas/tourism-visit/visitor.html to find information about the visa process, requirements, processing times, and fees.

*The visa information provided here is for information purposes only and to be used at your own risk. Visa rules are subject to change without warning. Contact your nearest U.S. embassy for the most up-to-date information.